Tags

, , , ,

When I was little, we had a plaque hanging by the front door of our house.  It was a picture of the beach at sunset with birds flying overhead.  It was wooden and lacquered in a 70’s kind of way, and it was hideous. At the bottom it said “The pursuit of happiness will set you free even if you never catch up to it.” (My sister will argue that it said “… even if you never catch up with it,” but she is wrong.)

For nearly 20 years we read this plaque every time we went up and down the stairs.  We both remember it clearly. All these years later, I can often see these words in my head. It makes me smile. I think reading those words everyday left some sort of mark and I am grateful for them.  

A couple of months ago I decided I wanted something hanging in our home that made a deep statement.  With a baby on the way, I want our child to read it every day and somehow, maybe through osmosis, it will become engrained in his/her soul. 

Today I decided I would search for something that says “Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”  It has become one of my favorite quotes. I believe this to be so true of my husband and me. I hope our kids will see these words everyday and learn to never settle, and to believe their soul mate is out there. 

Most of all, I want them to know their mother knows with all certainty there is no one else on earth she would rather be with than their father.  They must never settle for anything less than this when their time comes to start a family.

December 1, 2009

