Tags

, , , , , , ,

My husband and I are employed by the Maya, Sophie & Ryder Corporation. The realization hit me like a brick wall last night after a grinding 12 hour work day. I came home and was confronted with a list of demands my children rattled off with little regard to my state of fatigue or the time of day.

As I prepared to fall asleep it occurred to me we had unwittingly become co-managers of this organization and our 3 despotic children somehow maneuvered a clandestine, hostile takeover while we slept. By my calculation, I think this coup d’etat happened sometime around Ryder’s 1st birthday.

It’s too late now. We are the heart and soul of this enterprise and there is a thick, unbreakable glass ceiling through which we can see our maniacal bosses at the helm. We are short staffed and severely underpaid. There is no grievance department and our list of responsibilities grows with each passing day.

At some point we do hope to take over again. Until then, we can expect to continue servicing these 3 capricious children for the next 15 to 20 years.

At the end of the day, I hope we get at the very least a pension or a retirement fund. Right now, we can’t even count on sick days.

December 17, 2009

