Tags

, , , , , , ,

    

     “Why didn’t you bake any cookies for my class today?!” demanded my 6-year-old daughter as we walked out of school. I stopped walking and knelt in front of my little spitfire.

     “What on earth are you talking about? I didn’t know I was supposed to bake anything today,” I replied. She pulled a tiny piece of paper out of her jeans and informed me 23 school mates expect her to bring cookies tomorrow.

Ok. So I didn’t forget anything but in Maya-speak, I failed her because I didn’t read her mind. Things are now beginning to make a little sense. So, just as I started to make my way back to her teacher and ask what event is planned for tomorrow, my daughter disclosed her real intentions:

     “Mom, if I bring cookies to class my teacher will be happy, and will let me be in charge of the classroom when she uses the bathroom!” she explained. “Now all she lets me do is pass out napkins! I want to be the one in charge.”

Oh, I see. At the heart of the matter is my daughter’s need to be in charge — I can understand that. Well, if that’s the case, of course I’ll cooperate. Any clandestine operation that empowers my daughter is fully supported by her staff. Plus, baking cookies is savvy public relations for any 1st grader. Interesting how on some level she has this all figured out.

Yes, I’ll bake cookies. Wish I had thought of it sooner.

January 26, 2010

