Tags

, , , , , , , ,

mabel

In her purse you are likely to find anything from a carburetor to a medicine cabinet. She knows every word to every song 2 Live Crew ever rapped between 1990 and 1995, her hands are always perfectly manicured, and she can out-power walk just about anyone while carrying 40 pounds of sundry items in her purse. I suspect she’s received Navy Seal hand-to-hand combat training, so do not mess with her latte. Oh, and best of all? She is the daughter of a lighthouse keeper!

Inadvertently, or perhaps on purpose, she and her husband whipped Blas and I into shape during our vacation. We had no choice but to keep up or get left behind. B and I have concluded they hold taxis and other forms of common transportation in contempt. I’m not sure why.

Each and every day I prepared for leisurely strolls, yet somehow I ended up traversing vast distances — in one case, 18 perfect miles. I’m certain Blas and I both lost weight during our vacation.

tru

Their wonderful daughters are also seasoned power walkers. Their littlest is a clever whippet of a girl who matched our son Ryder head-to-toe in all their games. Their eldest, one of our daughters’ dearest friends, is just as pretty in the inside as she is on the outside.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Great people. Great Friends. I highly recommend them … if you can keep up with them 🙂

 

 

